well, i’m less fat

I’ve been getting a lot of compliments on my looks lately. Like any true woman though, I can to come up with five hundred reasons the compliment isn’t actually true before it even reaches my brain cells. The compliments range from, “I can tell you’re losing weight, your face looks thinner,” to “Holy cow, woman! You’re so skinny!” Not for one single day of my entire life have I ever been mistaken for skinny, so the comments have been surprising to say the least. I mean, I’ve lost 25 lbs – which is certainly no laughing matter. But I still have 20 lbs to go before I’m at my pre-pregnancy weight. And 10 more lbs after that before I’m at my wedding day weight.

It dawned on me the other day that I’m getting so many compliments because we’re in a new place with new people. That’s not to say people in North Carolina wouldn’t notice weight loss, but for all our Texas friends knew – I’ve always been a chubs. So yeah, I can see why they’d be a little taken aback to see me slimming down. Still, let’s not overstate this and throw the word “skinny” around all willy nilly. When people comment on my weight loss (which I appreciate, I really do), I want to say, “Thank you very much. But I’m not fooling myself into thinking I’m done. I’ve lost weight, but I’m well aware that I’m really just less fat now.”

Bathing suit season is coming up more quickly than I’d like to admit, so if I ever needed a reminder that I’m nowhere near “skinny,” I’d say that’d just about do it.

Leave a Reply

