on the homefront

Preacher Man: It took Preacher Man longer than usual to recover from camp, but that’s because he got a respiratory infection that made his already tired body feel like death. We’re thankful that a Z Pack knocked it out though, and he’s pretty much back on schedule. He’s been busy working on programming details for Jr. High VBS in July and is looking forward to the move of the Student Ministry to a building across the street.

Since Preacher Man was at camp for Father’s Day, we celebrated on Monday after his work day. Because I know how much he loves experiences together, I checked into tickets to Rangers games and tickets to the Cars 2 movie. Both would have been an awesome option for Bug and Preacher, but Bear is still a bit young. Instead, I surprised Preacher Man with our inaugural Family Movie Night! I loaded up on his favorite snacks (Twizzlers, chocolate covered Macadamia Nuts, and A&W), some popcorn for Bug, and got Gnomeo and Juliet to watch. We spread blankets and pillows on the floor and were pleasantly surprised that the boys made it about 2/3 through the movie before getting restless. Family Movie Night is one of those things we dreamt about as a young married couple, so it’s exciting to start those traditions with our sweet little family.

Jen: My time is mostly spent taking care of cute boys, working out, and managing our home right now. I love Serwa Chic, but I’m really enjoying the break I’ve been able to take from sewing for the summer, and how much that’s increased my quality time with the boys and the cleanliness of our house. Preacher Man and I got to have a double date night in Dallas last night, which was so great for us. I’ve been on a prescription medicine for PMDD, and have actually noticed a big difference. I’ll blog about it at some point, but I’ve been encouraged to feel more like myself again.

Bug: On the heels of being sick a week ago, Bug caught Preacher Man’s respiratory infection. Two nights ago, he woke up with a seal cough and wheezing when he breathed. I was very close to taking him to the ER because it sounded like he was having a really tough time breathing. Preacher Man told me to wait, so instead I slept with Bug in our guest bed so I could monitor his breathing. I hate when he’s sick, but man – I love those cuddles! His breathing is better, though he is running a fever and still doing the seal cough. For the second weekend in a row, it looks like I’ll be house bound with the sickies.

Bear: After tracking his calories for four days, we realized that Bear is getting 750-800 calories a day. Our GI doctor has us thickening his formula to give him that extra 250 calories he needs. His blood tests came back normal, except that his insulin levels were, “extremely high.” The nurse has told me that it’s nothing to be terribly concerned about, and that the doctor would go over with us what that means at our appointment this Wednesday. They’ll also check his weight to see if increasing his formula calories is working. Even though I was told not to be terribly concerned, I’m finding that I am in fact – terribly concerned. I’ve banned myself from googling the issue and am just waiting until Wednesday to discuss the issue with the doctor. Beyond that, Bear is developing just fine and is one of the happiest babies I’ve ever seen.

Leave a Reply

