summ-ah goals accountability

You may remember at the end of May when I revealed to you just how OCD I am and shared my love of lists. You may also remember that I wrote about the eight goals I hoped to accomplish by the end of September. I mentioned that I’d check in once a month to help keep myself accountable, and I’ve posted the list in the kitchen – where I’m forced to look at it several times a day. Now that it’s been just about a month, I’d love to share with you how things are going towards reaching my goals by the end of the summer.

1. Finish Beth Moore study

*This is actually going pretty well. I just started week six (out of ten weeks), so I’m on track to finish it by the end of the summer. I don’t have a set schedule of what days I’ll work on this, it’s just worked out well to make it a priority and do them as I have a chance.

2. Wake up early 2-3 days/week to study and pray.

*Waking up early hasn’t so much happened, but I have been able to use nap times as my study and prayer time 4-5 days a week. Preacher Man is up and out of the house early about four days a week, so I can’t really go outside for uninterrupted time in the mornings. I’m totally fine with revising the goal to be just taking time to spend with God – regardless of what time of day it is.

3. Teach Bug all of his letter sounds and begin teaching phonics.

*I think he has his letter sounds down pretty well, though we’re still working on it and moving towards phonics. I actually have an amusing story about this, but that’ll have to wait for another post. He’s doing well, and we’re focusing on finding opportunities for him to learn.

4. Teach Bear to walk.

*I almost can’t believe how close Bear is to walking. He no longer needs me to sit behind him as he pulls up to steady him, and he can go from sitting to pulling up and standing with ease. He’s starting to let go of the table for a second or two and balance on his own, and I have a feeling he’ll be ready to take off once he gets that down. He LOVES to walk holding onto my hands, and I really do think he’ll be walking before his 1st birthday.

5. .Lose 30 lbs.

*I’m actually really pleased to say that this can now say “Lose 18 lbs,” as I’ve lost 12 of the 30 already. 18 lbs is still no easy task, but I’m getting ever closer!

6. Save X-amount towards a house down payment.

*Boo. This is one of the few goals that isn’t going as planned. Hopefully we’ll be back on track soon, though. We may not make it entirely to my X amount, but I keep telling myself that something is better than nothing.

7. Get Serwa Chic products stocked in a local store.

*I sent out a bunch of emails last week to local stores and boutiques. I’d been putting it off, but I can’t lie – I really only did it because I knew I’d have to write an accountability post and didn’t want to be a total slacker! I’ve heard back from two stores, who are both excited about the possibility of stocking my long sleeve bibs in the future…just not right at this moment. My plan is to send out follow up emails by the end of July.

8.  Sew 20-40 more Perfect Fit AIOs to stock.

*This is another goal that has actually changed. I was contacted a couple of weeks ago about custom making some AIOs for an older girl with special needs. Her Mom has found it nearly impossible to find cloth diapers large enough for her daughter, so we’ve been in talks about what I can do to help. I don’t usually custom make diapers any longer, but I consider it a privilege to make them for the special needs community. Once I get measurements, I’ll soon be making some tester diapers to send to her, and I hope to be able to fulfill an order for her by the end of the summer instead of stocking more Perfect Fit AIOs.

So there you have it! I’ll make sure to update in another month or so, but I’d also love to hear about how you’re doing with your summ-ah goals. Beyond staying busy with these things, I’ve really enjoyed just spending so much quality time with my boys. Fall will be here before we know it, and it’ll be time for me to start sewing again and Bug to go back to preschool. Until then, I’m working hard to cherish and enjoy every day…

Leave a Reply

