happy 5th of july!

I realize I’m  day late, but we were so busy spending time as a family yesterday that I just didn’t have a chance to blog. Our family slept in ’till about 7:00 am (Bug’s current wake up time), and then we spent some time playing with the boys, watching the news, and drinking our coffee in our pjs. Preacher Man made his incredible peanut butter and banana stuffed french toast, then we did lots of cuddling and kissing on the two cutest boys the world has ever known. I made some funfetti 4th of July cupcakes, then headed to the gym to get my 4th of July work out on! We were blessed to be able to spend the evening with friends, where we grilled out, let Bug swim and play with water balloons, and even had some homemade ice cream. Time got away from us as we were chatting, so we didn’t end up leaving until about 9:30 – just in time to see some fireworks through the trees on our way home! We’re looking forward to Bear being old enough next year to handle the late night and loud noises of fireworks, but were glad we didn’t have to deal with the crowds and waiting this year.

Speaking of Bear, it’s kind of amazing to think that he’s coming up on his 1 year birthday in a month! I’ll save all the mushy stuff for his birthday blog posts, but I’m having a hard time believing I’ll soon be a Mom to a 2 year old and a 1 year old. On our way home from dinner last night, I was telling Bug that he was my friend. I told him that Daddy was also my friend, and so was Bear. Bug said, “No Mommy! Bear not a friend, Bear a baby!” I told Bug that babies can be our friends, and then he proceeded to tell me that Bear was his best friend, just like “Light a Ma-Keen” (Lightening McQueen) and the truck (Mater). He called Bear his best fwend two or three times, and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t tear up a little bit. I’m not sure how Bear would like being compared to Mater, but I think he’d agree that the sentiment behind the comparison is just about perfect.

Leave a Reply

