‘tude

Last night was our first night of Jr. High VBS, which Preacher Man structured and billed as a 3-day Jr. High Conference. I really can’t even explain how amazing it was and how proud I am of what my husband pulled off. I also can’t explain how much it filled my heart to be able to serve in his ministry again. After Preacher Man got home around 10:00 last night, we were talking about our day and sharing the experiences we each had (even though I was able to help serve at the conference, we literally spoke about two sentences to each other), and Preacher Man said, “You look happy.” It took me back a little bit, but I realized that I am happy. It’s always a juggling act when you have kids, but it does my heart good to use the gifts I’ve been given for His kingdom. I love being a help-mate and an asset to Preacher Man, and I love that he can count on me to cover the things he needs me to do. I never thought I’d say this, but I guess it turns out that being a minister’s wife actually kind of suits me.

One of the roles I filled last night was assisting students as they checked in – making sure the computers were running fine, helping students navigate the system, and introducing visitors to how the check in station worked. Right before things kicked off, one of my co-volunteers said, “That’s interesting. That girl just checked in, walked outside, and is sitting at the cafe tables outside.” Being unafraid of confrontation, I ventured out (in the 109 degree heat, mind you) to see what was up. I feel like you’d enjoy the interchange more if I write it like a script:

Me: Hey, how are you?

Girl: Fine

Me: Are you going inside for the conference?

Her: No.

Me: Why’s that?

Her: It’s boring.

Me: Hmmm…well, you don’t really know that since you’re not inside to see exactly how boring it is.

Her: I don’t have to be inside to know how boring it is.

Me: Well did you check in?

Her: Yes.

Me: Yeah, see – then you’re gonna have to go inside. If your parents think you’re attending the conference, you probably need to attend the conference.

Her: Yeah, that’s the point. I can check in, sit out here, and my Mom – she’s volunteering across the street- will think I went.

Me: Yeah. I can’t let you do that.

Her: I don’t want to go inside just to be bored to death.

Me: Well…they’re playing some games right now – and you gotta admit – watching other kids do dumb things is always more fun than staring at cars going by. Come on inside with me.

Her: Yeah. I don’t think so.

Me: Yeah. That’s not an option.

Her: [blank stare]

Me: So your Mom’s volunteering. Do you have any siblings who are here at VBS?

Her: Yeah, a younger brother and sister.

Me: You get along with them?

Her: No.

Me: How much younger are they than you?

Her: My brother’s exactly a year younger, and my sister’s five years younger.

Me: Wow. Yeah, I have a brother who’s almost exactly a year older than me. His name is Jesse, and people always thought we were twins, so I got called Jessica all the time. I remember feeling like we were always competing and I was always trying to be better than him. We get along now, but not always when we were younger.

Her: [long pause] Yeah, maybe your right. [looks me up and down and rolls her eyes] Maybe being in there would be less boring than being out here.

HA!

I audibly laughed and answered, “Yeah, you’re probably right. Let’s go inside.”

I tell ya, these kids got some cojones. Wit and determination, for sure – but some mighty impressive cojones.

One thought on “‘tude

  1. Oh. my. gosh. I love this so much. Constantly dealing with ‘tude, this is a classic story of Jr. High angst. Although this is more typical from a high school girl, but still… hilarious all the same!

Leave a Reply

