kitchen bonding

I don’t know about you, but some of the best conversations I’ve ever had happen in the kitchen. I’m sure there’s a metaphor in there somewhere about nurturing and sustaining life, but I’m a little too wiped out tonight to think on that deep of a level. Our girls’ weekend was no exception to the “kitchen conversation” rule.

No, that’s not actually a rule. I just made that up. See? I get tired and get all willy nilly about making up my own rules and such.

Some of the girls (which would not include me) really enjoyed cooking without the chaos of kids and pressure of time. Some of us enjoyed being able to bake without little ones asking us if they can stir or having to stop midway for a diaper change. We all enjoyed eating. Quite a bit, in fact. Even more, we all enjoyed cooking, chatting, and catching up.

Lindsey is apparently a captivating story teller:

And downright beautiful, too:

Patrice found a dessert that called for lots of peanut butter and lots of chocolate. I was more than happy to volunteer to make that particular dish:

I think this is one of my favorite photos of Aletha. She and I didn’t know each other very well when we lived in Winston-Salem, but I am so glad she came to the retreat and that I got to spend time getting to know her. She has such a sweet spirit and a humble love for God:

Patrice insisted I feed her a Reese’s Pieces while she mashed the chicken with that masher thingie (do you see now why I stick to baking?). If I could train the boys to feed me chocolate while I cook dinner, I’m thinking I might enjoy it a whole lot more:
So many things in a mother’s life are complicated. Being a Mom is a life long struggle for selflessness and learning to put others’ needs before yours, and it can easily get overwhelming. Our weekend goal was to rest, recharge, and go back to our homes as better wives and mothers. In a word – simplify.
2 thoughts on “kitchen bonding

Leave a Reply

