take me out to the ball game. but not for too long.

Just about a month ago we were given tickets to a local minor league baseball game. It seemed like the perfect way to spend a Sunday afternoon in August. Until we remembered that we were in Texas in August. And it’s hot. We stayed for probably a total of an hour – including the half hour that we spent in the air conditioned Captain’s Lounge – before we realized that it was just too dang hot for our kiddos.

I was able to teach Bug to say, “Hey batter, batter, batter batter! Swing batter!” Have I mentioned how much I love being a Mom of boys?

Behind Bear in this picture is Matt – our church’s high school minister – and his daughter who is Bug’s age. They’re actually in the same preschool class and may or may not have a pre-arranged marriage to one another. You’ll notice a theme in most of these photos, which would by my boys’ sweaty hair. In case you missed it – Texas in August is hot. 

Bear was very encouraging and clapped every time the batter hit the ball, regardless of which team it was. 

Because no family experience would be complete without photos of Bug playing on our phones. After the iPhone dunked in my coffee incident, I actually didn’t re-download any kids’ apps. Bug still asks to play with my phone, but is quickly bored because there aren’t any games on it. I’m sure I’ll get some of those apps back at some point, but for now I’m happy to find other ways to amuse him. 

[Next to Shawn and Bug are Matt and his son who is about Bear’s age. Next to Matt is one of our high school students who leads worship for the Jr. High students occasionally]

“Mommy, what were you thinking? It’s hot. Take me home.”

And shortly after this photo we did indeed head home. Not before grabbing some drive through snow cones as a reward for sitting out in the Texas heat for an entire half hour. That’s just how we roll.
Leave a Reply

