fall/winter goals

I set aside my usual shorts and t-shirts combo the other day in favor of..(drumroll)…capri pants! And I wore a summer dress today with a cardigan! Our windows are open! I’ve made at least three food items with pumpkin flavoring (pumpkin butter, pumpkin spice lattes, and pumpkin scones, if you must know)! I’m trying to restrain my use of exclamation points, but I just can’t! So! Excited! About! Fall!

Ahem. Okay, now that that’s out of my system.

Because I enjoyed making a summer goal list, I decided to take the next step and make a goal list for our fall and winter. I know nothing makes better blog fodder than a list of our family’s goals (said with a heavy dose of sarcasm), so here we go:

1. Sign up for and train for a 1/2 marathon.

Last week was our final week of being gym rats, since our membership expired at the end of September. I wish I were exaggerating, but I’ve gained 4 lbs this weekend. Some of that probably has to do with the Applebee’s copycat Walnut Blondie with Maple Butter Sauce I made (and ate once a day), and part of that is likely due to a certain time of the month, but I’m nonetheless not happy. I know myself well enough to know that I need a long term goal and a short term plan in order to continue living a healthy lifestyle. Plus, I just love running and am really looking forward to getting back into it.

2. Finish saving for a home downpayment.

We’ll have to work hard at this one, but I really want us to be able to start looking at houses soon.

3. Get 1,000 Facebook fans for the Serwa Chic business page.

I’m at just about 700, so if you have any creative ways to increase that fan base I’d love to hear ’em!

4. Contact local boutiques three times.

I really want my goals to all be attainable and I realized that saying “stock my products in a local boutique” wasn’t a realistic goal. I can’t control other people, so I want to focus on doing the steps towards having my products stocked over which I have control. In the next few months, I’ll be emailing and calling local shops and at least getting my brand out there!

5. Develop a cleaning schedule (bi-weekly and monthly).

Cleaning is my least favorite part of being a stay-at-home-Mom. It feels like a never ending job of futility, and I no sooner get one major task accomplished than I realize I neglected doing another. It’s defeating and frustrating. I’ve been thinking that having a cleaning schedule will actually make my life easier. Instead of stressing out about how dirty the bathroom is getting, I’ll know that it gets deep cleaning once a month and spot cleaned once a week. Knowing that each room has a scheduled time to get deep cleaned and spot cleaned will save me a lot futile frustration. This is definitely an area of my life that is a huge weakness, so I don’t expect this process to be easy!

6. Develop a plan for teaching Bug scripture.

I was convicted recently by reading my BFF’s blog. She wrote a series of posts about teaching her little ones scripture, and I realized that helping my kids memorize scripture wasn’t something I’d ever thought about. Scripture memorization isn’t my strong suite, but I’m looking forward to diving into this with Bug (and with Bear, just less formally). I’m thinking that I’ll pick one verse for us to work on every two weeks, and I’ll keep a book or notecards of our scriptures handy so we can easily review. Bug loves learning, and I have no doubt he’ll be excited about all the silly motions and dances that I’ll make up to go along with our memory verses!

7. Take more photos/videos of Bear.

I wanted to make sure I was working towards something with both boys, and thought forever about what goal to have for Bear. He’s developing right on track and we’re constantly working on talking, shapes, colors, etc., because he’s always involved when I work on those things with Bug. I was thinking about how great he’s doing at walking when I realized we don’t have any photos or videos of his first steps! I’m a slacker Mom, and the poor kid is already falling victim to the second child syndrome! So more photos and more videos of that scrumptious cutie pie!

8. Simplify budgeting/re-allocate monthly spending.

Gas prices and food prices have gone up, and our energy bill isn’t as high as we thought it’d be in the Texas heat. Life changes, so it’s important to make sure our budget always reflects realistic spending. I’m also hoping to check into software to help make budgeting a little easier for me. I put in a total of about 6-7 hours a week just on our family’s budget – tracking, projecting, calculating, etc. I don’t mind spending the time to make sure we’re on track, but I’d love if we could figure out how to make that just a little less time.

 

If you have suggestions for how to help make any of those goals happen, I’m all ears! I’m loving the idea of addressing areas of weakness in each season and figuring out ways to focus on and tackle those weaknesses head on. I know these goals posts are not the most entertaining reads, but I so appreciate you allowing me to be accountable. If you’re making goals of your own for the fall and winter – please share! I’d love to hear them!

One thought on “fall/winter goals

  1. Pingback: flashback videos! « jenny.erally : speak.ing

Leave a Reply

