bug’s third birthday!

We had so much fun celebrating Bug’s third birthday! Yes, his birthday WAS over a month ago. Yes, this is the only photo I got of our celebration (though I DID get a few videos). Yes, we ARE slacker parents.

Now that THAT is out of the way.

While Bug was at school, Shawn and I went crazy decorating the house. We put up signs and balloons on the mailbox and in the yard, we hung streamers all around the house, including making a streamer tunnel at the entry way of his door (his favorite was the streamers I hung from the ceiling fan), and we covered the living room floor with colorful balloons. When he walked in the door he gasped and said, “A party? For me?!”

After about a half an hour of running through the balloons and streamers, he ran up to me and breathlessly announced, “Mommy! This is da best party me ever SEE!”

That’s right. I’ll just put on my Super Mom cape now, if you don’t mind.

After partying like it’s 2008, we all donned our party hats and gathered around the cake I’d made to sing Happy Birthday. J. Bug actually picked out his own cake, so it was German chocolate cake with Funfetti vanilla frosting. I know you’re jealous, but you can’t have any – it’s all gone.

My sweet three year old oohed and aahed over each of his gifts, and his parents oohed and aahed over the fact that God would consider us worthy of stewarding his life. We had a great day celebrating the tiny little ball of crankiness God gave us on November 11, 2008. It’s been our privilege to discover his personality, and to watch as God is creating a little man after His own heart…right before our eyes. The words, “Happy Birthday” hardly seem sufficient.

I prefer to quietly whisper, “God, thank you. Thank you for letting us hold him for three years. Thank you for teaching us through him, and for all the blessings that he brings to our family. I know it’s his birthday, but you and I both know that we’re the ones getting the real gift here. Thank you for his breath, his curiosity, his spirit…his life. Thank you.” 

Leave a Reply

