let’s make some resolutions, shall we?

By now you’re probably well aware of my inordinate love of goals. I love making goals, I love making action steps to reach those goals, I love making charts to graph the goals, I love taking steps to achieve goals, and I love finally reaching a goal.

I. Love. Goals.

I know that makes me weird, but I don’t care. Me and goals have a thing going on, and I don’t care who knows it.

My zeal for all things goal-oriented makes New Year’s one of my favorite times of year. I love it not only because it’s a time to evaluate what I could be doing better, but because the entire country is as excited about goals and self-discipline as I am! That being said, I don’t take making resolutions lightly. I usually only make one or two, and I genuinely work at them throughout the year. In fact, I can’t remember the last time I didn’t achieve a New Year’s resolution.

This year though, I’ve decided to make more than one or two, and I’ve done my best to be very specific. Before I share the aforementioned goals, let’s take a gander at a Cutie Pie McC.Bear at the park:

Ahem. Okay, onto my New Year’s resolutions!

-Lose 15-20 lbs. 

[I gained back about 10 of the pounds I’d lost through the holidays. Let’s just say good-bye to that extra poundage, mmmkay?]

-Run a 1/2 marathon. Train for and run another race.

[I want to make sure the half I run at the end of January isn’t the only race I run in 2012. I know I’m gonna need me some motivation to keep at it throughout the year!]

-Set up a craft fair schedule and schedule out contacting local boutiques.

[If I’m serious about taking this next step in my business, I need to set up a schedule, pay the vendor fees, and commit.]

-Evaluate friendships

[I’m tired of saying, “I’d love to spend more time with so-and-so, I really respect her.” This year, I’d like to take some serious steps at connecting with women whose friendships are edifying and encouraging to me, and to step back from friendships that are draining and gossipy.]

So…life changing, huh? Hopefully next January I’ll be 15 lbs smaller, have a few races and craft fairs under my belt, and will be more focused on quality friendships. How about you? Do you make resolutions? Do you hate them and make fun of them (like a certain husband I know), or you more ambivalent about the whole thing? There’s nothing more encouraging than knowing others are working through some of the same things you are – so I’d love to hear what your resolutions are!

Leave a Reply

