SNOW!

I kind of want to type this entire post in capital letters so I can accurately convey my EXCITEMENT! Sorry, the caps lock got the best of me there.

Lest you mistake my capital letter enthusiasm for screaming at you, I’ll avoid typing this post in all caps. But just know.

I’M EXCITED ENOUGH ABOUT SNOW IN TEXAS THAT I REALLY DO WANT TO SHOUT ABOUT IT!

I was sitting at the desk in our kitchen, working on our taxes when Shawn said, “Hey. I know you’re working hard over there, but I think you’ll want to take a minute for this. Look outside. It’s snowing.”

Without turning around I said, “oooh-kay.” Just a couple of days before it had been 75 degrees. It wasn’t snowing.

After a minute of insisting, Shawn finally did get me to turn around and look outside our back glass door. What I saw certainly did surprise me – white stuff was falling from the sky. And the ground even had some white stuff on it.

Would you like to know what my next step in logic was? I seriously thought Shawn had rented a snow machine. I looked at the calendar to see if I’d forgotten some kind of anniversary or special date that would cause him to surprise me with such an outlandish gift.

Because, hello. We live in Texas.

I seriously argued with Shawn about whether or not it was snowing as we stared at the snow falling on our back yard. Once my brain finally processed the idea that snow in Texas was indeed not only a possibility but was actually happening….

I couldn’t stop smiling. Or laughing. Or hopping. Or doing my special, “it’s snowing” jig. I galloped back to our room while I sang, “It’s snowing, it’s snowing, it’s SNOWING! I need some shoes because it’s SNOWING!” and we walked outside – in the dark – to enjoy the lovely surprise.

Then we walked to the front yard, simply because we wanted to enjoy the view of our dream house blanketed in white.

Well, “blanketed” might be an overstatement. Sheeted in white? Lightly thrown in white?


Anyway. It was a beautiful sight. Naturally, I quickly abandoned our taxes. Instead, Shawn and I lit a fire, made a snack, and did some cuddling on the couch. Although cuddling with someone who keeps popping up to look at the snowfall isn’t easy, Shawn managed to do just that. Unfortunately most of it had melted by the time the boys woke up in the morning, but J. Bug did get to see a little patch of white on our neighbor’s roof.

Somehow I feel more equipped to deal with the impending Texas summer after getting to experience snow even once this winter.

Since I’ve managed to make it through this post with minimal caps lock usage, I think I deserve the following:

IT SNOWED IN TEXAS! AND I GOT TO SEE IT, AND IT WAS PRETTY AND LOVELY AND WONDERFUL AND EVERYTHING SNOW SHOULD BE! IT SNOWED IN TEXAS!!!

IT SNOWED IN TEXAS!!

Leave a Reply

