frivolous friday

More old school action coming atcha!

…………………………………

7/24/08

An Unintended Retreat…

As I’m typing this, I’m the hotel room of a resort in Orlando, Florida. I’m actually here for work (attending the National Abstinence Clearinghouse Conference), but have to admit that it’s been a nice break from life to be here. I’ve been able to spread out across the bed, take daily naps, and spend lots of time by myself…I’ve loved it!

I’ve also loved the conference and have already gotten so much useful information and have been challenged – it’s not just all about the the relaxation! I had hoped to swim everyday I was here, but unfortunately the afternoon thundershowers that are typical of Florida hindered that until today. I was able to alternate between taking some laps in the lap pool and sitting in the sun to rest. I was surprised by how much of a work out my arms got, but oh man…I loved it! It was a blast to swim, to feel weightless, and to know that I was getting exercise. Perhaps more importantly, it’s been great to get a break from day to day things, baby worries, work pressures, etc.

Meanwhile, back at the ranch…Shawn’s been incredibly busy! He decided to undertake a couple of painting projects around the house that we’ve been wanting to do for awhile. Ever since Shawn read at some point that the fumes in paint can be toxic in pregnancy, he’s been planning on doing as much painting as he could while I was gone. SO…he’s been busy painting the baby’s room (brownish tan), and painting our old, dark cabinets white. He’ll be adding new hardware to the cabinets as well. A crazy amount to try and get done in four days! I’m excited to get started on getting our nursery done, though. It’ll be nice to be able to have a room to start to sort and place our baby stuff!

I can’t believe that it’s only about a week until we be going to Indiana for our baby shower. We’re both really excited to see friends and family again! My family hasn’t seen me since my sister’s wedding, when I was four months pregnant, so I’m sure they’re in for a bit of a shock in how much I’ve grown in three months!

Shawn and I have finally caved and decided to get a gym membership for me for the next two months. I’ve not been able to do any working out worth mentioning because of the North Carolina heat, which has not only been difficult for me, but has effected my weight gain. I’ll try to make it through the next couple of months by working out in the air conditioned gym, and then will hopefully be able to take my running/walking outside again after that.For what seems like the first time in awhile, I’m actually feeling pretty good. I’ve not had any major aches or pains and haven’t been dealing with the ugly side of pregnancy lately.

Don’t get me wrong, I still pee every five minutes (sometimes literally…every five minutes) and have a hard time sleeping through the night consistently, but I count myself blessed that those are about the extent of my complaints right now. He’s moving more and more! I know I say that with every update, but it’s just the coolest feeling in the world. He absolutely has days where he’s quiet and pretty still (and I start to get a little concerned, of course), and then days where he’s kicking nonstop and I feel like he must be dancing away in there. 🙂 Our next appointment is in the middle of August (I believe, anyway, I’m not near my appointment calendar), which will be when they test me for gestational diabetes. That issue is a little bit disconcerting for me, but I’m trying to not worry or freak out about something that’s still so far away. Thanks for checking up on our Baby!

8/11/08

The Third Trimester…

I can barely believe that I am already in the third trimester of this pregnancy! It’s amazing, I sometimes still have a difficult time believing that I’m even pregnant in the first place…much less about to give birth in two and a half months!!! It’s amazing how quickly the time has flown. The only real change that I’ve noticed in with the third trimester is frequent and painful heartburn. I don’t know that I’ve ever had heartburn before I was pregnant, so it’s definately a new experience. We’ll be investing in some Tums pretty soon, because I can’t eat without feeling pain.

I’ve been warned and am duly afraid of the comeback of nausea and fatigue, but so far (knock on wood!), I’ve been okay. I’ve noticed I hav a sensitivity to smells and distaste for certain foods again, but so far, no nausea to accompany it. I’m definately tired, but I think that’s probably more because of a hectic schedule and pregnancy in general.

I’ve been able to work out several times in an air conditioned gym! I alternate between working on the treadmill and the elliptical machine. I’m finding that I can only run for half of a mile at a time, but I’m grateful to just be able to run…period!

The other day, a lady beside me told me that she couldn’t watch me run because, “all that bouncing of the baby worries me.” She still clucked, even after I told her that I had gotten the okay from my doctor. I got a good chuckle. 🙂

Shawn and I were in Indiana last weekend for a shower that my Mom and sister threw us. It was so much fun to see family and friends that we haven’t seen in awhile, and I think it was just good for me to get away from everything and be around people I love. It ended up being a pretty relaxing weekend for us, and I am SO grateful for the generosity of our friends and family.

Since we’ve been home, we’ve been full steam ahead with preparations for the fall. The kick-off of the school year also symbolizes drastic shifts in schedule for both Shawn and I. I’m starting to feel the pressure of getting everything set for maternity leave, and I’m always aware that I may go into labor earlier than I plan. We have had time to get some work done on the nursery. It is painted, we have curtains up, a dresser moved in, and a rug on the floor. The dresser is filled with washed and ready to wear baby clothes! We’re so blessed that we already have an entire dresser FULL of clothes!! I have also stayed busy making some cloth diapers. I’ve finished my first one, and hope to have a few more done within the next couple of days. I’ll post pictures when I get a chance! I can tell that it’s important for me to “nest” right now…it’s amazing how much less stressed out I am about baby stuff when I’m able to do so!

Leave a Reply

