peat moss

I don’t know what it is about that word, but once you start saying it you can’t stop. J. Bug has always loved to play with sounds, and he’s very often shouting random combinations of noises to see what it feels like and sounds like. Because he’s a boy, many of his favorite words/sounds generally revolve around the potty. He was beginning to just randomly shout potty-related words throughout the aisles of Target, so we decided he could only use his “potty words” when he was actually sitting on the potty.

Every night before bed, Bug has to use the potty. He sits down and looks straight into my eyes. His big blue eyes fill with glee, and he says, “TooT [he over enunciates the “T” both at the beginning and the end]!” I try to keep a straight face as he runs through his list of words. It usually sounds something like, “TooT! PooP! PEE-PEE!!! Potty! Binga-Bong! HAHAHAHA!”

I really do try to be very serious. I honestly try to not even crack a smile. It never fails though. He’s just so happy in that moment. It’s all I can do to hang my head and laugh.

And that’s how I feel about the word peat moss. It makes me want to giggle like a three year old boy.

In the left bed I planted lettuce, broccoli, squash, and onion. In the right I planted pumpkin, spinach, kale, and peppers. Then I added a couple of tomato plants next to the right bed. I planted everything from seeds except the tomatoes, peppers, and onions – I read that it was likely too late in the Texas planting season to start those as seeds.

So far most of the plants are doing well! I’m not sure where the kale and broccoli are, and I think the tomato plants may have drowned in the deluge of storms we had the week after I planted the garden – but everything else is thriving!

I may or may not check on the garden every day, and I may or may not have done a little dance the first time I saw sprouts. If I did do a sprout dance, it very likely would’ve involved a bit of bootie bopping. Those dance moves are between me and the plants, though. And everyone knows lettuce is a notoriously good secret keeper.

One thought on “peat moss

Leave a Reply

