frivolous friday

………………

10/02/08

everything looks good!…
As you can probably tell from the title of this post, our doctor’s appointment went pretty well today. My blood pressure is nice and low and Baby’s heartbeat is strong! I am apparently one centimeter dialated and 50% effaced. This was the first time we were given actual numbers…I’m not quite sure why we weren’t told this before. She told me that I’ve been one centimeter dialated for awhile (probably since our second visit to the hospital), and that the chart notes said that I was 25% effaced at our visit a week ago. I could let myself get concerned about that, but to be honest, I’m just not. I’m only two and a half days away from being 35 weeks – so beyond my water breaking before that time, I’m not letting myself get too rattled right now.
We were also told that at our next appointment (Wednesday morning), I’ll most likely be taken off of bed rest…hooray! Shawn and I have already talked about self-imposing modified bed rest until we’re 36 weeks along, but I’m still really excited to have some leeway!

10/05/08

Week 35!…
Yay! Our little guy has made it to Week 35!!!!!!!! I don’t think exclamation points do my excitement a bit of justice here. We were told by our Doctor that if I started to go into labor at 35 weeks, they would not stop it, but go ahead and let me deliver. Let me tell you – that’s scary and hugely exciting at the same time. Mostly exciting. 🙂
So let’s see, what else is going on with us…Oh! Shawn’s sister (Heather) will be coming down on Friday to stay with us for a few days! She very thoughtfully wanted to come help us out while I’m on bed rest, and it’ll be really nice to have some company. We’re both really excited to have her and her son here, we don’t see nearly enough of them!
My good friend Jill is throwing us a shower at Pinedale on Saturday! I’m really looking forward to it and am so grateful for Jill’s thoughtfulness. I’ll have to make sure to bring my camera and put up lots of pictures!
I’m starting to relax a little about the possibility of going into labor – both because each day means less NICU time, and because we’ve been able to get so much prepared. If I were to go into labor today, we’d have to make a quick trip to get newborn diapers, wipes, and a couple of other small things – but other than that, we’re pretty much set. It’s a far cry from where we were when I started with contractions at 29 weeks!

10/10/08

2 more days!…
Just two more days until I am 36 weeks and, as my Doctor put it, “You can contract until your little heart’s content.” I had thought at our last appointment on Wednesday that I would be taken off of bed rest, but they would apparently like me to wait until I’m 36 weeks along. Which…if you hadn’t noticed…is only 2 days away!!

Our appointment showed that the baby’s heartbeat is great, and he’s measuring exactly as he should be. I’ve not dialated or effaced any further since last week (even though I was having some wicked contractions Tuesday night that I thought for sure were doing something), and my blood pressure is normal. Hooray! I also had the Group B Strep (GBS) test done. Basically, if it’s positive, it just means I’ll need have antibiotics through and IV before giving birth so that I don’t pass it along to the baby. From what I understand, many people carry it around. They’re not sure how we get it, but in most adults it is not dangerous and often doesn’t even present symptoms. Still, I’d rather not have an IV, so I’m hoping for a negative. Our next appointment is Thursday morning.
I have had an unexpectedly eventful past couple of days! I haven’t been able to attend our Wednesday night Small Group because of bed rest, and have been missing our 9th grade girls something terrible. Thankfully, Jill and Sherri (my co-leaders) have been awesome about teaching and taking care of things. Occasionally, we have an “Activity Night,” which just means there is no lesson, take your kids and do something fun. Jill mentioned last week that since I haven’t seen the girls in so long, she could bring the girls over to our house on Wednesday for Activity Night. I was thrilled!
I had thought we’d just hang out, talk, play board games…just chat and catch up. Little did I know that those amazingly sweet 9th grade girls had planned a surprise baby shower! My heart just melts at their awesomeness! They brought food and drinks (many of them my favorites!), and some awesome presents for Baby Maurer. The girls made him pictures and even decorated our front door with (washable ) paint that says “It’s A Boy.” It was one of the sweetest, most thoughtful things in the entire world.
Before last night’s Worth the Wait practice, one of the girls had asked me several times if I was going to be at practice that night. I thought she had something serious she needed to talk to me about, so I got there a little early to make myself available to chat. Well, about 15 minutes before practice got started, several of my WTW girls plus Beth and Taylor (good friends of ours – Shawn stayed with their family when he was an intern and Taylor was our program passer-outer for our wedding) walked in with two ginormous baskets filled with all kinds of baby goodies! I was shocked! Here, I was ready for some heart to heart about how maybe this girl was struggling and needing some accountability…or something equally as serious…and I get presents instead!! The baskets were filled with many baby things that we need, and it was so much fun to look through all of it! Let me just tell you – this kid will not have to repeat an outfit until he’s at least 6 months old! 🙂
I feel so blessed and love to think about how much this little guy is loved before he’s even been born.
As exciting as the past two days have been, we have even more excitement coming up this weekend if you can believe it! Heather and her son will be flying in this afternoon and staying with us for a few days. I know I’ve said this before, but Shawn and I are really looking forward to having them here. I’m being thrown a baby shower on Saturday at Pinedale, which I’m really looking forward to, as well! It’s always fun when the people you love the most are gathered in one place for you to hang out with. 🙂 This coming Tuesday and Thursday evenings are the Worth the Wait Dress Rehearsals. I’m excited because while I know I may go into labor before then (and Dawn is fully capable of taking over in my absence), I had originally thought for sure that we’d have a baby by this point. After Dress Rehearsals, I no longer have to worry about doing Worth the Wait in the evenings…yay! So lots of stuff happening in the next week!

10/17/08

baby mine, don’t you cry…
I just cannot get over the fact that I am 36 Weeks and 5 Days along. In just two days, I’ll be 37 weeks, which is…(drumroll)…full term!!! To the surprise of all of our Doctors and the utter shock of Shawn and I…it appears that we have proven not one, but two fetal fibronectin tests wrong! I can’t tell you how thankful I am for your prayers and how in awe of God I am. He’s given us peace and calm when we were so scared, He’s strengthened our marriage through the fears and worries, and He’s taken care of our precious son when his health was out of our control.
So, being 36 weeks along means that I am officially off bedrest! It’s such a great feeling to know that while they hurt, contractions aren’t a bad thing anymore. They’re actually a great thing, as they’re moving my body towards eventual labor. At our appointment yesterday, we found out that I’m 1-2 cm dialated, still 50% effaced, and his head is starting to move downwards (he didn’t use the word “engaged,” but I think that’s what it’s called). I’ve been having a lot of contractions in the past week, so I kind of thought I’d be further along. We saw our favorite doctor again, and it was kind of fun to see his excitement that I’d made it to 36.5 weeks. He said that Baby was definitely downward, which is the ideal position for birth. In fact, he put his two fingers around the baby’s head, and said, “I can actually feel his head right here,” to which Baby  responded by kicking. We’ve learned that we’ve got a fiesty kiddo in there, who makes it quite clear when he doesn’t like something that’s going on! Our next appointment is this Thursday afternoon.
Now as to the title of this blog…about the time Shawn and I got engaged, we started talking about number of children, baby names, etc. One night, we were on the phone, and I told Shawn that I had always loved this song from the movie “Beaches,” called Baby of Mine, and that I had always wanted to sing that lullabye to my child. After Shawn asked me what the lyrics were, he told me that the song is actually from “Dumbo,” and that HE had always loved that song and wanted to sing the lullabye to his child. What’s ironic is that I had never seen Dumbo, and Shawn had never seen Beaches (actually, I still haven’t seen Dumbo, and Shawn still hasn’t seen Beaches)! I often put the headphones on my stomach and play the song for our baby. I love to sing it to him already, and since we’d begun pre-term labor, couldn’t help but tearing up as I sang, “from your head down to your toes, you’re not much goodness knows. but you’re so precious to me, sweet as can be…baby of mine.” I don’t know if Shawn and I both hearing and loving that song was mere coincidence, or God fusing our lives together before we ever met, but that particular song has been very special to both of us.
We had our Baby Shower at Pinedale this past Saturday, which was so much fun! We got all kinds of great items – a Bumbo seat that converts into a booster seat, some bathtime fun stuff, adorable clothes and blankets, car shades, wipes and diapers, a sleep positioner, and tons of other great stuff! Jill and Laura did such a great job planning, and I had a blast.
Shawn’s sister and nephew were here from Friday to Wednesday this past weekend, and what a blessing they were! We hadn’t seen Noah since Thanksgiving, so we both really enjoyed getting to know him again. I have to tell you that he is just about the cutest, happiest child I have ever met. Even with a cold and teething, he spent most of his time smiling. Once Noah got used to Cole’s “kisses” and Cole got used to not being able to play with Noah’s toys, the two of them got along just great! I’m pretty sure Cole was actually depressed when he checked every room for them on Wednesday afternoon and realized they were gone. It was also nice to have some company while I was working from home, and Heather helped us get some of our household cleaning done I’ve had to put off, and got us all caught up on laundry! We don’t see nearly enough of either one of our families, so it was really nice to have some of “home” here.
Shawn and I were able to get a few things we felt like we really needed before the baby gets here (mostly breastfeeding stuff, cotton swabs…stuff like that), so we are now officially prepared (go ahead and laugh, I know how ironic that statment sounds to you who are already parents). Our nursery is set up and ready to go, things with work are in line for me to take maternity leave at any moment, and we’re just pretty much ready to meet this kiddo!
I have to admit that I’ve been struggling with complaining the past couple of days. In the past week, I gained 10 pounds (ridiculous! who gains 10 lbs in a week?!), and am just finding it increasingly difficult to move, sleep, get up, sit down, breathe…pretty much anything! I’m finding that I can be a little cranky, and unfortunately, I’ve been taking that out on Shawn for the past day or two.

I was just thinking this morning that I need to knock it off, though. I was thinking about my Mom, who worked at a grocery store up until right before she delivered both my older brother and I. I can’t imagine how swollen her feet got in those last months – and to think that when she was pregnant with me, she had to go home and then take care of a baby. I was also thinking about a friend of mine who told me that she started swelling like I am now at 5 months….and here I am complaining about a week of this. Not to mention…hello!!…this is exactly what I prayed for and wanted…to still be pregnant at this point! So seriously, if you see me being cranky or hear me complaining too much about pregnancy woes – I give you full permission to tell me to knock it off and think about how much worse it could be!
I’m sorry to have written so much, I just haven’t been able to update in awhile, and so much has been going on! As always, thank you so much for your prayers for this little one, and thank you for caring enough about our little family to continue reading our updates.

Leave a Reply

