my herb garden

Along with planting our backyard square foot garden, I’ve recently decided to start a mini-herb garden in our kitchen. We have the perfect kitchen window for such an endeavor! I bought the seeds, the containers, and the soil and I got to work. My track record for keeping green things alive is not that great, so I was surprised when my herb garden not only started sprouting, but quickly began thriving.

It makes me abnormally happy to use fresh herbs in our cooking, and I’m more than a little proud of myself for successfully having an herb garden – something I never thought I could do:

From left to right we have sweet mint, chives, cilantro, oregano, and basil. I still haven’t figure out exactly what to do with the sweet mint leaves, so suggestions are welcome! I use the other herbs on an almost daily basis, and we can really tell the difference between our fresh herbs and the store bought stuff.

You also might have noticed our neighbor’s lovely rose bushes that I coveted every time I washed dishes at that sink. I’ve always loved rose bushes and have often thought the idea of filling our home with freshly-cut roses is beautifully whimsical. A few weeks ago I was in the front yard trimming some of our shrubbery, and wandered into the side yard to weed those – rarely seen- beds. Would you like to know what I found?

Four stunning, captivating rose bushes. There were two red rose bushes and two pink rose bushes that were in full bloom, and a yellow rose bush in the front bed that bloomed soon after. I audibly gasped when I saw them, and my homemaker heart filled to the brim.

Have I mentioned how much I love this house? It’s our dream home in so many ways – even down to something as silly as being able to fill my home with freshly cut roses in the spring. And fill my home, I did. We have no less than eight vases filled with these gorgeous flowers spread throughout our downstairs:

I rotate them out about once a week, and the notion that I’m going to go clip some roses – in my bare feet and sometimes pajamas – never, ever gets old. 

Oh man. For a girl who doesn’t have a green thumb, I sure am posting a lot about gardening lately, huh? Just stop me before I start trying to talk Shawn into letting us have a chicken coop, okay? No, seriously. I’ve thought about it.
3 thoughts on “my herb garden

  1. So this might be a “duh” comment (I’m bad at those), but I use mint leaves in iced tea. I put a little mint leaf in the tea before brewing it through the coffeepot and woof! Iced-mint-tea-greatness.

    And also, I would totally still be your friend if you had a chicken coop. Actually, I would probably be one of those people that started out sentences with, “I have this friend, Jen, and she lives in Texas, she’s a stay-at-home mom and has a CHICKEN COOP!”

  2. Daggumit. I meant it in a “I’m so cool I have this friend,” way. I actually met someone a few weeks ago in the inner-city of Indianapolis with a chicken and goat coop. Just sayin’. 🙂

Leave a Reply

