a letter to bear

Sweet Bear,

Today you are 2 years and 3 days old, my love. I can’t believe it was only two years ago that I was marveling at your long toes, your swollen baby face, your tiny little cries, and the way your fingers instinctively wrapped around mine. Two years ago you captured my heart, sweetie. Two years ago I fell in love harder than I knew possible.

We had no idea what laid before us when we first held you in our arms. You were the sweetest baby, Bear. You slept so sweetly cuddled in my arms, and even when you cried it always sounded like you were saying, “Umm…I don’t want to bother you. I’m just a little hungry. Could you please consider feeding me?” It’s been such a privilege to watch that sweet little baby grow into [what can only be described as] a sweetly silly toddler.

You’re a trip, son. From your head to your toes, you are a performer who thrives on making people smile. Your booty-shake is about the best I’ve ever seen, you already sing me little songs about whatever we’re doing, and your little body can’t help but groove to whatever beat is playing. It’s such a joy to watch your soul light up when you make me [or your brother, or your Daddy, or the stranger in the store] smile by something you’ve done. One of my favorite things about you is that you have so many little silly quirks – little things you do – that just make my heart giggle.

You’re talking up one heck of a storm, and right now you love to point out the things you notice in your surroundings. You’re especially talkative when you wake up and our conversations usually go like this,

You: “Un bed.” Me: “Your bed?” You: “Yeah.”

You: “Un banky.” Me: “You’re blanket?” You: “Yeah.”

You: “Chew!!!” Me: “You’re brother? Yep, he’s awake.” You: “Yeah!”

You: “Un Da-yee?” Me: “Daddy’s getting dressed. Do you want to go see him?” You: “YEAH!”

Then you scamper off, saying “Daddy! Daaaaaddy? Daddy!” as your face lights up at the prospect of seeing one of your favorite people in the world.

Speaking of your Daddy. Shew, that man is your hero. I’m not exaggerating when I say that at least 25 times a day you ask me, “Where Da-yee?” I always answer, “Daddy’s at work, honey.” and you always reply “Oh.” When he comes in the door, you literally hop up and down in anticipation. Not to mention you and your Daddy are looking more and more alike with each passing day!

As you turn two years old kiddo, I just want you to know how deeply you’re loved and cherished. I love absolutely everything about you and couldn’t have possibly imagined how much of a blessing you would be when I first laid my eyes on you. You’re precious, sweet one. Daddy and I love you with our whole hearts, and we pray that you know how intricately and delicately you were made. Our God created every fiber of your being, knows every hair on your head, and loves you with a ceaseless and powerful love. 

Happy Birthday, Squidgy.

Love,

Mommy & Daddy

Leave a Reply

